top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Campos <3

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

Updated: May 2, 2019




This weekend, keep track of the odors you smell. This is a challenge in being observant and mindful.

1. Log at least 10 scents from your weekend. Write what you smell (how can you identify it? what are the characteristics?)

2. Log WHERE and WHEN you captured the scent.

3. Identify if you have any memories about these smells (do they trigger specific memories?) OR the mood that they inspire.



Smell 1: freshly baked cookies

- After prom was over, my friends and I decided to bake cookies. When they were finally ready we pulled them out of the oven and they smelled amazing. The smell reminded me of my childhood and how my grandmother always used to bake cookies for us on the weekends.


Smell 2: hairspray

- Before prom I went to get my hair done for the first time. The smell was very prominent and was quite overwhelming. When I was younger I used to be in a dance class and the smell reminded me of the room that I used to dance in.


Smell 3: Ruffles cheddar and sour cream chips

- After prom my friends and I slept at my house and we ate a lot of chips. The smell made me happy because it reminded me of how I ate chips on a picnic with my family in Paris several years ago.


Smell 4: sweat

- During prom everyone was dancing a lot. Everyone was sweaty. The smell reminded me of all of the soccer tournaments I played in when I was younger. It made me uncomfortable because the smell was gross but at the same time I was happy.


Smell 5: perfume

- There was a lot of perfume at prom this past weekend. It was very strong. The perfume that one of my friends wore reminded me of my first school dance because it smelled like the scent I wore that night.


Scent 6: salt

- That Sunday I was very sad. Tears smell of salt. The smell reminded me of a time where I was very sad and didn’t have anybody.


Smell 7: iron

- I cut my foot on Sunday. There was blood on my hand after I reached down to touch it. The iron smell reminded me of the rusting volleyball net poles that I used to put up. I miss volleyball and the thought of it made me happy.


Smell 8: rain

- There was a lot of rain this weekend. The smell reminded me of my dog because he always plays in the puddles when it rains. It made me laugh.


Smell 9: flowers

- This weekend there was a lot of flowers at prom. It reminded me of my parents shop when I was younger. It made me very happy.


Smell 10: dog

- I played with my dog on Sunday and was very happy. The smell of him also reminded me of my previous dog which did make me slightly sad.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page