top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Campos <3

Melancholy: “The Happiness of being Sad”



 

1) Sadly I was not here for the sketchnote activity :(

2) Personally I relate most to the word, Natsukashii 懐かしい. This word “identifies the feeling of evocative longing for something past: a nostalgia that's also very sad, as it reminds you that what you're remembering will never come again.” This reminds me of a friend that I lost recently due to an argument. Even though we are still friends, we will never be as close as we were once were. It is saddening because we made so many fun memories with each other over the few years we have known each other. I hope that this will change before they leave to college next fall.

3) “Nobody ever gets what they want when it comes to love.” Scott Turow



4) My favorite line of the poem was, “She dwells with Beauty—Beauty that must die”. I found this bit particularly interesting because the author wants the reader to understand that there is a point where all things fade away, meaning nothing good can last. But there is another side to this, this line also conveys that nothing bad can stay as well.

5) I am unable to add a song to the playlist. However, if I were to add a song I would add “Consequences“ (instrumental version) by Camilla Cabello. This song is written from a woman’s perspective. She is reminiscing about the happy but also damaging memories of her previous relationship.






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page