top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Campos <3

Journal: Peer Prompt


"What was your most traumatizing experience?"

- Hikari Son

 

Two years ago, I went on a trip to Las Cruces, New Mexico to visit my dad's side of the family who lived there. My family and I were so excited. The weather however was very different to Hawaii. It was cold enough to snow. One night, I decided to stay at my older cousin's house for the night with my sister. We were so ecstatic. Reason being, she had two adorable dogs that we could play with. She allowed us to sleep together in a room with a TV. We decided to watch the entire Twilight series before we went to sleep. About half way through the second movie, my sister fell asleep. I began to grow very cold. I got the chills and I was unable to sleep. I stayed up the entire night, watching all of the movies without he; I felt awful. I wanted to sleep so badly but I felt so uncomfortable. I did not sleep that night. I remember tossing and turning, and taking the blanket on and off of my body. It was a rough night. But it got worse the next day. My cousin then realized that I had a very high fever, even though she did not have a thermometer. She gave me two NyQuil and told me to relax. I then continued to watch TV but I still did not feel well. She gave me more NyQuil and I eventually lost count of how much she gave me throughout the day. We went to my grandma's house for dinner and I felt awful. I laid on my grandparent's couch in pain and closed my eyes. I felt that I was going to pass out. I could not sleep. I had already not slept for more than twenty four hours. I felt that my body was too hot and I needed to take a shower. When I got up however, I grew scared. I was not prepared for what I saw next. I had taken so much medicine, that I began to hallucinate. Then I started to notice that there were black ghost-like figures surrounding my family members. They all stared at me with white eyes. I started crying and ran to the bathroom. I began to wash my face in the sink trying to erase what I had seen. But when I looked up at my reflection I did not see myself. I saw a deformed version of myself with black eyes and a horrifying face that screamed back at me. I screamed back. My parents came in right after and they began to yell at me. That I embarrassed them. I was so scared that I hugged my mom and started crying. I felt so sick. I thought that I was going to die. They felt my forehead and realized that I was burning up. I told them about my overdose and I took a shower. It took every ounce of my being to fight against the hallucinations. I told myself over and over, "It's not real, you're fine" as I took a shower. Eventually, the demon-like creatures went away. But my fever did not. It lasted for the next week. And I had awful insomnia. This was probably the worst trip because of what I experienced. But I am very lucky that I was able to get through it.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page